Day 11 – Part One – the end of the video

Amendment: In the video, Amanda said she moved to avoid the stalker. In reality, she moved because of the parental strife (from mom and dad, then to live with dad, then dad moved, then back to mom). You can see my doubts about Carol Todd beginning.

Good morning! I’m a bit tired, so bear with me. I had hoped to have finished with the video on Day 10, but I was getting too angry with it, and that is draining.

This is such a confusing story, and trying to sort out fact from fiction is difficult. I have a feeling that I might have made an error in the timeline by a combination of not paying attention, a lack of information, and contrary evidence. So bear with me while I try to clarify things (if you feel the need, you could just skip to Day 11, Part Two):

My original thoughts about where she lived throughout this story was roughly this:

She started off in Port Coquitlam and had always been there. This appeared to be supported by evidence. But I couldn’t work out the significance of Maple Ridge, or how she came to be there. I had assumed that the first move she mentioned was from Maple Ridge back to her mother’s house, and at that point I’m lost.

I now think this, and I think I’m not far off. Please, if anyone could fill in details, I would be grateful:

She lived in Port Coquitlam – possibly happily with mother and father. At some point (2009) she moved to live with her father when her parents seperated. But where was he? Her online records say she was in Port Coquitlam, but I thought father was in Maple Ridge. Did she move to Maple Ridge later?  The implication in the video is that her moves were down to HER problems, but it looks much more like it was just simple parental moves. I originally thought that she was at CABE in 2011, but her next move (early 2012) is back to live with mother – from Maple Ridge to Port Coquitlam, where she is definitely at CABE. I need some help here.

Note one thing: the Todd’s marriage problems hardly ever get mentioned. This, I find, is odd, and indicative of the way in which the family never allow themselves to ever have the slightest blame come their way. Everyone knows that parental problems in the background have a massive impact on kids, and the move to live with father comes right at the time when all the problems began. But this has all been conveniently side-stepped. I’m also surprised that Amanda doesn’t mention it in the video – which makes me think that mother had a hand in it. ‘Best not tell the world about me, Amanda!’ Also something to bear in mind again – it is rare for father’s to get custody of kids. Why did Mrs Todd disappear for so long?

So – let’s wrap up the video.

Being stalked, under threat, hospitalised, mentally ill, suicidal, she HAS to advertise herself. Head in hands time! Just in case anyone doesn’t know, just in case any bully or stalker might have forgotten about her, just in case anyone needs to find out information about her: ‘My name is Amanda Todd’ At this point, her parents/doctors/whoever should have taken down this video. Really – this is now way beyond the limits of reason. For the umpteenth time, she HAS to seek attention. After all the events, she HAS to announce herself to the world AGAIN (remember: one of her online identities was ‘Announcing Amanda’).

Amanda has said her bit, and now puts in – for dramatic effect – three images. A cut arm, a bandaged wrist, and a tattoo.

In short, I think these are fake. The cuts are not too deep. And the picture is too set up. Even if they are true, they are certainly not recent (look at her arms in the video). The bandaged wrist could be from anyone at any time, and the ‘Stay Strong’ tattoo’ is just a teen henna thing, copying Demi Lovato. Whatever – we get the message loud and strong – Amanda Todd is a sad victim. Do we really need it rammed down our throats?

Now let’s look at the text accompanying the video:

“I’m struggling to stay in this world, because everything just touches me so deeply. I’m not doing this for attention. I’m doing this to be an inspiration and to show that I can be strong. I did things to myself to make pain go away, because I’d rather hurt myself then someone else. Haters are haters but please don’t hate, although im sure I’ll get them. I hope I can show you guys that everyone has a story, and everyones future will be bright one day, you just gotta pull through. I’m still here aren’t I ?

-AmandaTodd”

I’ll try not to dwell on this too long. ‘I’m struggling…’ Sad. Plaintive. ‘I’m not doing this for attention.’ Look, love, everything you do is for attention, right from the start. Pull the other one. ‘I’m doing this to be an inspiration and to show that I can be strong.’ Laudable, but a bit show-offy. She’s doing it to be an inspiration. Is she still delusional? ‘I did things to myself to make pain go away, because I’d rather hurt myself then someone else.’ Lovely. She’s a saint. But we can see evidence that she wasn’t quite as nice as she says.

But then we get the teeth-grittingly stupid activity again. ‘Haters are haters but please don’t hate, although im sure I’ll get them.’ Why so masochistic? Supposedly, haters have driven her to the brink of suicide. They are, in effect, killing her. Over and over again. But she almost issues a challenge. And she is sure that she will get them.

This is too odd. We can assume that she was stupid. In fact, we know that she was pretty stupid. Her activity is like ‘More heroin will cure my addiction’; ‘Another cigarette won’t hurt’. She is now 15 – there are no longer excuses for her being too young, too naive. But let’s put to one side that she’s an attention-seeking moron. Who is allowing her to do this?

Here is my theory: We know a lot about Amanda. She is a problem; soon we will discover she had learning difficulties; she’s mentally ill. Who let her make the video? I think she was encouraged and helped. I think the video was made under supervision, possibly in hospital (we know she has been hospitalised on several occasions recently). I think that some idiotic person (mother? doctor? social worker?) thought that it would be a good idea to make the video, completely unaware of the grave issues in Amanda’s history. I think that her helper seriously thought that it would be some sort of cathartic cure – the story would be told, people would understand, there would be a wave of love and sympathy, and Amanda would continue through life – head held high. I think that her helper had no idea of the weapons available to the haters (the pictures of her naked, her delinquent behaviour) and had no idea that, even taken as it stands, the video might invite some criticisms about all the under-age sex and so on. But it would all backfire. The haters came again. The Amanda Todd story – with doom written all over it from 2009 onwards – was about to end.

If she didn’t get help, then I still need to ask the question: who allowed her to bring attention to herself again? Mother has a lot to answer for.

‘I hope I can show you guys that everyone has a story, and everyones future will be bright one day, you just gotta pull through. I’m still here aren’t I ?’ Well – completely the opposite happened. There was never an inkling of a bright future – her story get worse and worse, with not a glimmer of hope in it. It only showed how powerless people are when up against things. And then – supposedly – she commits suicide. The ultimate failure. The best bit of advice for kids here? Kill yourself now, things don’t get better. Not for nothing has suicide ideation massively increased.

And – just in case we have forgotten – she signs off: ‘Amanda Todd’.

2 thoughts on “Day 11 – Part One – the end of the video

  1. Another conflict. Amanda’s mother paints herself as a caring, blameless parent, yet Amanda had stated in January 2011 that her mother wouldn’t even speak to her anymore after the police incident of December 2010. I don’t recall whether I saw her words in a Yotube comment or if she told me directly. Who do we believe? I’ll have to go digging through my records.

    • I did see somewhere that the December 2010 issue ended up with Amanda choosing to live with father after Carol Todd clamped down on her behaviour. But I can’t confirm that. I have a feeling that the school moves were not really to do with Amanda’s problems – they were more to do with her family arrangements.
      Carol Todd, I guess, must be consumed by some sort of guilt. If Amanda did leave her to go with father, it would explain why mother then allowed her to do so much – a desperate attempt to keep Amanda happy and remain in her good books.
      Was Amanda really just out of control? Was she simply just so manipulative that neither mother nor father could control her activities?
      We can guess that mother went berserk when the police arrived. Did she know the full story? At one point, I assumed that Carol Todd could possibly have simply been unaware of the size of the problem, but I now have a feeling she knew all the details – that would have been a great shock for her.
      But maybe Carol isn’t so bad. Could it be that her attempts to divert all the attention towards the bullies and ‘predators’ was simply an effort to re-construct an image of her daughter? That would be noble. But it’s failed miserably.

Leave a Reply

