Day 12 – Carol Todd

Amendment: Carol Todd was simply everywhere on Canadian media at the beginning. Looking back at this, I’m surprised that I said the story was over so quickly, and I can’t remember what kept it going.

Today, we’ll look at the amazing Mrs Todd. In Canada, she’s lauded as the epitome of Motherhood – anywhere else, she would have been on the receiving end of investigations by Social Services.

But before I start, some sad news. Or some great news – it depends how you look at it. The Amanda Todd story is, really, quite dead. Interest peaked in the first two weeks, and then slowly decreased. There were some efforts to keep it going – her birthday brought in a few more interested people, the ‘Snowflake Walk’ maintained a certain level of interest, but try as they might, her supporters just couldn’t keep it going. Things still tick over – people still look at her video, she still gets referred to in the occasional article, but nobody really cares who she is. Her name has been pinned to the ‘Amanda Todd Legacy Fund’ and a couple of other things, but that is not a wise move. Now, those who were interested have moved on, and it’s really not a good decision to keep trying to turn her name into a brand, like mother seems to want to do – Amanda is known not just as ‘the kid who got bullied to death’ but more commonly as ‘the one who flashed her tits all over the Internet’. You would think that now, even her most ardent supporters would want her to truly be left to rest in peace. But no. Let’s have a look at Mrs Todd.

To a certain extent, it is Carol Todd’s attitude since her daughter’s ‘death’ that has flummoxed me the most. I am a very judgmental person – quick to condemn. But then, especially if I am interested in the events surrounding the person, I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to work out a balanced approach and to test my initial knee-jerk responses. I have to say – I cannot find any redeeming quality in Carol Todd. However much I try, it’s impossible. And it is her behaviour and reactions – being so far out of any range that could be considered normal – that, yet again, lead me to believe that there is something seriously wrong with this story, and that is is faked.

For the third time (because I find it SO unbelievable) I provide this quote:

“At the end of her video, Amanda held up a card that read: “I have nobody, I need someone.”

Carol says she didn’t understand why Amanda wrote that, but she never asked.”

OK – now I ask any reader of this blog – male, female, young or old, anyone who is only slightly capable of thought, anybody at all – sit back, clear your mind, and THINK for a minute. Picture this: you have a young, vulnerable daughter, who is in deep, deep trouble. For nearly three years, she has been showing signs of neglect, drinking, taking drugs, and in the last nine months she has been beaten up for under-age sex, swigged bleach, overdosed, been hospitalised. She then produces a video which is about as close to a suicide note as you can get. She writes what she writes.  And you IGNORE it?  It’s just not right.

Why did Carol Todd not bother to ask? What is wrong with her? It is truly, truly unforgivable. What sort of parent doesn’t ask why her suicidal daughter wrote such things in the video, especially in these circumstances?  There is something severely wrong with this scenario.

My theory is this: Carol Todd not even asking about  her daughter’s video is too much to be believed. I think that – in the faking of all this – they never considered rehearsing answers to potential questions, so when she was asked about how she seemed to overlook the video, she panicked and gave the wrong response. She should have said ‘I was deeply concerned and we talked about it, and I showed her that she wasn’t alone and that I was always there for her’. Or something similar. But the was too slow to think – and just said she never asked.

Now – if we are too assume that that this video and the events are without trickery and skulduggery, what other view can we take of Carol Todd’s ‘never asked’ response? I think she was inordinately stupid and self-centred. I think there’s a lot of ‘like mother, like daughter’ here. It’s clear. We can see the same level of attention-seeking, we can see the same lack of thinking about the consequences, the same level of stupidity. It’s shocking. Let’s ask ourselves some more questions.

Carol Todd seems to portray herself as some sort of perfect mother, who acted nobly in the defence and support of her angelic daughter – a paragon of nurturing.

But I’ll take a break. Time for some pictures, I think.

Leave a Reply

