Last post for today – maybe I need to recuperate – is Carol Todd as bad as I think she is?

Hello to all my friends.

I feel like I’m in shock.

When I was writing the earlier posts to this blog, I took my eye of the ball and didn’t pay so much attention to what was going on in other parts of the Amanda Todd world.

So today I received quite a horrible surprise. Like all these things, it should, in fact, make me happy. I had already made up my mind that Mrs Todd was quite a bad parent, and that her daughter was verging on being a drug-addled, dipsomaniac, nymphomaniac child from Hell. But I had shoved all that way into the back of my mind, filed under ‘Unreasonable’, and had resolved to try to keep a healthy balance and avoid all the emotional anguish of disbelief and frustration.

So I looked at Carol Todd’s blog from the beginning. There were the signs of egotism and stupidity, of self-deceit and deliberate deceit, of pomposity and self-aggrandisement (none of which effect me, of course). But around that, I could see glimmers of hope. She seemed to want to do good – and for whatever motives, that’s not such a bad thing. I was even beginning to warm to her and where I once applied lashings of cynicism I was feeling a certain amount of respect. I was starting to doubt myself – to not even like myself. And then – BAM – out of the blue came this as the blog entry for February 18th:

‘So, looking through all the pictures of Amanda and her friends, I was happy to see her in good times, fun times, drunk times and even stoned times. Yes, she told me about the times she ‘blazed’. I commend her for being honest with me. There are still alot of her friends that find it hard to talk to their moms and/or dads. Amanda’s blazing was just a small piece of her life and problems. As we all say ‘We (as parents) pick our battles, and that wasn’t one I was picking.’ She wasn’t operating machinery or driving a car. So it wasn’t such a big one to me. Also, my friends who are parents and are around my age, what exactly did you do when you were in your mid-teens? I know that I wasn’t exactly honest with my parents and I did things that were quite similar to what teens do today. Did you? Now be honest with yourself… LOL!!!’

That’s it as far as I’m concerned. I officially announce that Mrs Carol Todd is Philip Rose’s winner of the ‘Worst Mother of the Year’ award.

I’m almost too angry to write. We are led to believe – and it is something that I DO believe – that Amanda Todd was at massive risk, almost from the age of twelve onwards. Time and time again her problems were left unsolved, and her cries for help went unanswered. Don’t forget – Carol Todd’s response to the terribly plaintive ‘I need someone’ at the end of the video was ‘I never asked’. And now this. Every sane parent in the world knows that drink and drugs exacerbate all underlying problems, yet we have Mrs Todd writing as if it was all unimportant – ‘it wasn’t such a big one to me’. This just isn’t right. Maybe, just maybe, I could accept such lackadaisical parenting of a normal child – but not of one who was so obviously in need of care and support.

So I will say this. I believe that bad parenting was the root cause of Amanda Todd’s death. And I defy anyone to put forward any kind of argument to disprove it. The bullying occurred once; even the imaginary stalker was present only for a short time, and the major impact of that had worn off well before the suicide; and the cyber-bullying was in the past. The whole story is symptomatic of poor parenting. And Mrs Todd, no doubt driven by guilt and a desire to avoid blame, may well be doing a good job as anti-bullying spokesperson, but she may as well have just held a gun against her daughter’s head and pulled the trigger.

And that, my friends, is the truth.

A quick note to all my loyal readers: this blog will be taking a change in course soon. I have become too bogged down with all the problems of the media and so on. All my best readers will know that the vast majority of the whole story is a pack of lies, and I have become too embroiled with everything on an emotional and angry level. It’s time to be serious and move on with solutions, not problems. Thank you for staying with me.

2 thoughts on “Last post for today – maybe I need to recuperate – is Carol Todd as bad as I think she is?

  1. I understand your anger. I can’t begin to put into words how crushed I was regarding the kid in my previous comment. I had this possibly somewhat silly fantasy that maybe in the course of our socializing, I might impart some of my knowledge and experiences to her. A sort of e-dad figure. Someone she could open up to if she couldn’t be so candid with her mom. I even thought about traveling to her location in a few years to watch her graduate and begin a productive adult life.

    All gone now. So much for childhood innocence. So much for caring. I was such a fool. Now I wonder if her or one of her friends will end up as a headline someday. There’s nothing one can do when the parents are complicit in their kids’ misbehavior or illegal or dangerous activities.

  2. I have just finished reading your blogs. I was Norm Todd’s girlfriend the past 3 years and tried to help Amanda through a lot of difficulties. I can answer all of your questions honestly. I find that on the one hand I admire your “earnest” search for the truth beneath the public story, but I loathe the idea that I would be trying to help someone understand the story that had any ill interest in learning about it. I haven’t quite decided yet if your interest to understand is genuine or for ulterior motives?
    Anyways, I can speak to everything you have questioned but in no way wish it to be publicly posted or my opinion shared by name, relationship or identity.

Leave a Reply

