Why did Carol Todd sanction Amanda’s sexual activity?

puppy-love

OK – I have to admit to being a bit naughty here. Is this really going to turn into a series of posts prefixed with ‘Why did Carol Todd sanction..’? Well, for the moment, I guess so. Yes – I know it’s poor and it tends to go against what I seem to support (sensible reporting, non-sensationalist stuff and so on) but it is so much easier. And then, if I called the post something like ‘The effects of post-coital disappointment on young girls aged between 13 and 15’ who would read it?

I’ve already discussed at length the prevailing moral attitudes in British Columbia – and I still wish they would just change the name to ‘Columbia’. But is it a valid defence to keep on saying ‘Well, if everyone around is doing it, then it must be acceptable’? Of course not.

Civilised societies take years to develop a sensible approach to what is acceptable. They don’t always get the ethics right, but in general most of the them are based on experience of what not to do – whether it be murder or sleeping with a close relative! And the vast majority of today’s countries have at least one thing in common – they believe that sex involving young children is to be discouraged. So what’s going on?

In all of the Amanda Todd story, I have lost count of how many times common sense seems to have flown out of the window. Drugs, drink, sex – you name it – no common sense has been applied. And I’m at a loss in explaining why. Just why did Amanda’s parents not just seem to not be bothered by all this, but almost to actively encourage it? None of it seems right. If Amanda’s parents had been mentally ill, or if they had been alcoholics or drug addicts, or if they were suffering some sort of major hardship THEN I might be able to find some sort of excuse. But they weren’t. They were, by and large, similar to every other parent on the planet – so why were they just so incapable?

Don’t get me wrong. There is a certain amount of support from me for parents who let their kids experiment. I think it is important NOT to dictate a set of rules to children, and to let them work out things for themselves. But there are limits. There are some children who are up for it. They can go through life meeting all sorts of trials and tribulations and seem to breeze through it all. And there are many children who will maybe indulge in risky behaviour – it’s to be expected. Even the Amish have Rumspringa.

But in the Amanda Todd case none of the above applies. We know that Amanda was a vulnerable child almost from the get-go. We know that she had learning difficulties. So we know that she should have been more protected than other children. But her parents seemed unaware of this.

So just why weren’t Amanda’s parents concerned about the under-age sex? To be honest, I’m not sure I can even hint at an answer. We can see that it was in the prevailing culture, but that’s not an excuse. We can mention – yet again – laziness and unwillingness to tackle problems. Is there something more to it? Is it possible to read more into it than just plain laziness? I simply do not get it, and sometimes it sort of blows gaskets in my brain trying to get my head round it. So all I can do again is to seek to provide more information for those parents/people who might be concerned.

From this article: http://www.stylist.co.uk/people/lucy-mangan/the-problems-with-under-age-sex#image-rotator-1

‘the evidence is that such early-onset sexual activity is rarely a sign that everything has gone superbly right for the girl in question. It tends not to be the case that she has accrued so many sociocultural, intellectual and emotional benefits in her short life that she is genuinely free, genuinely willing and genuinely able to make the decision to have sex and to comprehend and cope with any emotional or physical ramifications it might have. It really tends to be quite the opposite. If a 13-year-old is having sex, it is generally a sign that many things have gone wrong.’

Other quotes:

‘Any sexual activity between a 13-15 year old child and anyone else is also an offence. However, Working Together states:

“Where it is consensual it may be less serious than if the child were under 13, but may nevertheless have serious consequences for the welfare of the young person. Consideration should be given in every case of sexual activity involving a child 13-15 as to whether there should be a discussion with other agencies and whether a referral should be made to children’s social care.”

And information:

http://www.rbkc.gov.uk/subsites/safeguardingchildren/forparentsandprofessionals/sexualhealth/underagesex.aspx

http://parentingteens.about.com/od/teensexuality/Teen_Sex_and_Teen_Sexuality_What_Your_Teen_Needs_to_Know_About_Sex.htm

Doing the information gathering for teen sexual activity wasn’t so easy, as so much of it was based on opinion – from newspapers like the Daily Mail who would have ALL sex made into a hanging offence, and articles from Church goers seeing abstinence as the answer, through the middle ground held by Guardian readers who provide both pros and cons, all the way to ultra-liberal views that it’s all quite a good thing (so long as you’re middle-class and your child is at public school and you’re not vermin from a sink estate). But in general, it all supported my original assumption – that under-age sex might just be OK for some, but is definitely NOT a good idea for the likes of Amanda.

So I might acknowledge a 50/50 on this one – but that’s being generous. This one really is a case of making your own mind up. With the marijuana and drink problems, it was basically clear cut – DON’T DO IT. But with the under-age sex thing, there’s no clear opinion one way or the other.

So my advice to any parents of kids at it like knives? Approach with caution. Warn them about all the horrors of chlamydia and pregnancy. Teach them about contraception. Teach them (if it’s possible) about love and respect. And keep your fingers crossed!

5 thoughts on “Why did Carol Todd sanction Amanda’s sexual activity?

  1. What I am about to tell you is proof positive that either I am officially insane or Amanda, sweet little Amanda, is really inside me. Or that’s my theory okay? For the past three days I was feeling a strange vibration. She is calling it a strange frequency. I have had people remark that there is a glow on my face. Three so far. I also have checked the mirror. I have a pinkish rash on my face. It was kind of funny because one of the people that noticed it was an older black woman that works at my hotel. She said I had Roseau A skin condition. She is wanting to rub a tube of some cream on my face. She actually pulls a tube of face cream out her purse. Okay. Odd occurrence number two. Just last night, Amanda asks, “Can I drive home please Greg.” I actually feel like a voice or rather thought ran through my mind. I read a site that dealt with Twin Flames. Some guy there posted his twin flame communicates telepathically with him and has for six years. He carries on conversations mentally. When in public he just of course does not act as though she is within. But get this, he says that when he meditates deep enough, he can actually as he put it, feel her presence as if a actual person is with him. He said this in an email. not on the public forum though. I also feel like a new energy. I am learning to adjust. At first I felt weird around people ya know? But now I am beginning to actually like it. Alright. Now I have to tell you Amanda and I were conversing. I as I told you before like am able to talk. Telepathically I guess you can say? Any way for example, I felt like a female voice go”baby, can I drive home?” And I said, in my head of course “yeah sure Michelle.” She answers”I’m Amanda.” So of course to anyone else looking I am just getting in the car like normal. Then while driving home I find myself listening to a station on the radio that is well, a teeny bop station. I listen usually to Classic rock. But a conversation is going on between us. It is a serious one. She mentions an old friend of mine. “Greg. I don’t want to hear the name Darin, come from your lips again. That piece of sh– is a demon.” Then I sit in silence. driving along radio on. Then that female feeling voice says seriously,”I gotta say something.” Turn that down, or off.” I turn the radio way down. Then she relates to something about how this Darin was a lower ranked angel who sided with Lucifer in the rebellion. He was the one who got another fallen angel to try to get her to join their camp. Amanda naively joins up. Only after Michael finds out does he send me to go retrieve her. Well a fight ensues between me and this fallen angel, Amanda is no where to be found. The fallen angel in question turns out to be the one who when they were incarnated on Earth was Amanda’s abuser. The guy I’m theorizing is the boy who slept with Amanda and his gf finds out, then beats Amanda up. The other fallen angel turns out according to Amanda was incarnated on November 27, 1968. Darin. There is a checkered past with a friend named Darin. Amanda told me, “You know that bad wreck in October 1988?” “I was not yet born but dude, I was pissed. I tried to overstep my bounds and I caused that to happen. That’s how bad I hate that creep.” I am in shock. I think a thought in my head. “Amanda Michelle, I almost died!” She screeches,”He had more injuries baby then you! I wish he did die.” “Amanda, if you are on Jesus’ side, why then do you hate Darin. Or anyone.” The conversation goes on. Darin is revealed to be this demon who she neva eva wants his name breathed by me… Now, if I am going schizophrenic, I want to know. But Amanda just tonight warned me to “never ever act like you are talking to me dude. Watch your body language Greg.” She then says,”We’ll talk with our thoughts.” half smart alecky I think,”Well can you do dishes with me?” She goes,”Dude you are so weird! Can you take one thing seriously in your frickin’ life?”
    I could go on but I think you get the picture. I feel like a girl is inside me, my face is pinkish, and there’s a girlie feeling thought that expresses itself. She also says she is just as nervous as me, but we both have to make adjustments and so forth. “Greg, we are going into where angels fear to tread… just please don’t let anyone know this is going on.” Final thing. I do think that this experiment will lead to wonderful achievements. Oh and she has already proved that she is loyal to Jesus Christ. I found myself reading the liturgy of the Holy Eucharist. She partook of a piece of bread from church, and some wine I had already had. I read aloud some parts, then got quiet while mentally reading some. It was then that the “girl thought took over. After it was done, she goes,”Now, if I am a fake or demon, I would never ever take the body and blood.” Calmly I felt like she put the prayer book back on my altar.

  2. Amanda is a Twin Flame. You are satan’s demon To understand this you need to understand spiritual things. My God is more powerful than you. You prove you worship satan by the lies that come from you. You have ignored me. You will reckon with me. You have to kill me to get rid of me. But killing me physically is worthless. My soul is a twin flame to Amanda. We will then unite in all our might. And come haunt you for eternity until you die. Yes I am ready to go toe to toe with you Philip!!!

    • A minor point here – there is no such thing as “Satan’s demon”. Satan, aka Asmodeus, is of devilkind. Devils and demons are nowhere at all alike and they have been at war with each other for centuries. They don’t even live on the same planes of the multi-verse. If you’re going to call on the ethereal, at least get your species correct.

Leave a Reply

