My only friend – the end

I think I have said enough about the Amanda Todd case now.

I hope that I have supplied information to people who are concerned with the issues surrounding the story, and that perhaps someone, somewhere may have benefited from at least one of the helplines.

I feel that, to a certain extent, my battle was lost. Indeed, I did see it as a battle – against ignorance, irresponsibility, bad parenting. But there is a saying from that great, joyful philosopher Nietzche:

‘He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.’

I found that the things I despise in people – hatred and anger – were creeping into my own existence. I used to think that forgiveness was important, but I found it more and more difficult to forgive those involved in the story – the media, for supplying hateful and provocative articles attacking those individuals upon whom they piled blame; the authorities, such as the police, doctors and teachers for being so useless at dealing with problems; but, most of all, the ongoing hypocrisy and self-centredness of the parents involved, for they seemed incapable of fulfilling absolute basic requirements – allowing their vulnerable daughter to smoke marijuana, drink to excess, indulge in underage sexual activity and, perhaps worst of all, giving her unfettered and unsupervised access to the means of her own self-destruction – the Internet.

And as far as staring into the abyss is concerned – knowing that there are hundreds of children exposing themselves online each day, that there are thousands of teenagers indulging in illegal activities such as drinking and taking drugs whilst their parents do nothing, is not a good thing. It gnaws at my wellbeing.

Knowing that there is an online industry designed to exploit the weaknesses of young girls – whether it be the ‘Toddlers and Tiaras’ at one end of the spectrum, or the jailbait type of sites at the other – only serves to strengthen my belief that ignorance, unfortunately, can be bliss.

And I found myself in two minds about the blog. There were times that I was drawn towards sensationalism just to increase the views. And I feel that, at times, I have cut corners in trying to explain things. But, to a great extent, I did my best. But I’m not going to win the Pulitzer Prize!

So perhaps it is time to take a break. I will continue to try to give a balanced response to further developments in the Amanda Todd story, and I may revisit the blog should any worthwhile news appear.

If anyone would like to leave a comment or a question, please feel free. All I ask is that the comments be constructive. If you think I have lied (look – everyone knows that Philip Rose is a pseudonym) then please state what you think I have lied about. If you want anything to be discussed further, let me know.

I wish all my supporters peace and happiness. Really, I also wish that (reluctantly) to those who have been hateful towards me. For those who supported me, I thought you might like to know: the blog reached a far wider audience than I had ever hoped for. I thought that the blog would be viewed by maybe just a handful of people each day, but it has broken the 9000 barrier recently, and continues to be visited by people from all over the world.

So – thanks again to my supporters, and thanks to everyone who took the time to read my blog. I leave you with, perhaps, a sensible bit of advice: be kind. It’s not always easy, but it’s all that counts.

Ta ta for now!

One thought on “My only friend – the end

Leave a Reply

