Boxing Day bonkersness

Well, I hope everybody had a good Christmas.

So….I was going through the news as usual. What has happened to the Todd story? It’s suddenly dropped off the cliff. Not a sniff of anything mildly provocative, not even some inane comment by my Woman of the Year. What’s a man to do? Maybe wait for the next bandwagon to roll into town.

But wait. All is not lost. Do my eyes deceive me? Is this a joke? Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Elizabeth Sheehy.

Now – it’s not like me to make general statements.  Years ago, I discovered that all women are insane. And that’s a fact. It’s just difficult to differentiate their levels of insanity. In the last few months, I have discovered that a high level of madness is in Canada – you know, that place that most people have heard of, but no-one actually cares about. Or aboot, as the Canadians would say, eh? Then, in proper scientific fashion, I re-investigated my information, and narrowed it down to British Columbia – home of mob-rule and gullibility.

Here’s the article:

http://www.ottawacitizen.com/news/Battered+women+morally+entitled+kill+abusers+professor+asserts/9270200/story.html

Seriously, I thought it was some sort of joke. Let’s look at a quote:

‘Battered women are morally entitled to kill their abusive partners, even those who are passed out or asleep, says a respected University of Ottawa law professor.’

And who chose to publish this? UBC (University of British Columbia).

There have been times in my life when I’ve said to myself ‘I’ve seen it all’. Then the world always has that habit of saying ‘No you haven’t, fool’.

I particularly like this extract:

‘Battered women’s “moral courage,” Sheehy writes in her book, “deserves our respect.

“When women kill to save their own lives, they assert that they matter, that their lives count — even more than the lives of their abusers.”

After all their abusers have done to them, “they have somehow taken a stand for their own humanity and saved themselves,” she writes. “And for this we should also be grateful.”

Holey moley! So let me get this straight. Moral courage is killing your male partner in his sleep rather  than just packing up and leaving, or finding help elsewhere. Their lives count more than the person they kill. And they’ve taken a stand for their own humanity.

Fuck me. To all the husbands, partners and boyfriends out there who leave the toilet seat up – better sleep with one eye open!

One day I’ll read the news and not want to put my boot through the computer screen. But hey, it gives me something to write in this albatross-round-my-neck of a blog.

And coming up. The Rehtaeh Parsons case. That will be a doozy. Yet another instance in which the loving dysfunctional parents are prepared to see their child’s past dragged up in what will be yet another fiasco just so they can feel blameless. As usual, I’ve researched this case, but I will save most of my observations for later.

But I leave you with this. Any parent who gives their kid a cockamamie name like Rehtaeh should be reported to the authorities immediately. It’s not big, and it’s not clever. Unlike my blog.

Happy Boxing Day!

One thought on “Boxing Day bonkersness

  1. I have a sneaking suspicion the “respected professor” has been jilted a number of times, if anyone expressed any interest in her at all. Am I being sexist? Of course, but at least I’m not trying to find a reason to justify homicide.

Leave a Reply

