What happens next?

Aydin Coban is due for sentencing this week (either tomorrow or the day after). My guess is that he will be found guilty, but it may be a tough call. Who knows? I would also guess that there will be an immediate appeal.

The story still remains curious. It remains almost completely ignored by the UK press and hasn’t really had much impact elsewhere. There has been an interesting article here:

https://stv.tv/news/scotland/1382399-scots-girls-targeted-in-nude-webcam-blackmail-plot/

It’s interesting because the girl is just so typical of all the victims, saying:

She said: “I was not getting a lot of attention from family and friends so I found it was a way for me to get attention elsewhere.

“I would go online and do loads of pictures of myself. Nude pictures of myself when I was underage.

“They were from the span of maybe 11 years old to 14 years old. I was posting them on online forums like 4chan. I would also do live streams where people would watch me get naked and stuff.

“They gave me a lot of affection and compliments. It made me want to keep doing it because I felt good.”

This is in keeping with the Amanda Todd story, and, of course, is way off from all the tales of Coban being some sort of silver-tongued tempter. Indeed, the words of the Scottish girl (who I guess is Gemma) would be identical to a testimony from Amanda and all the rest of the victims.

However, what is more confusing is that Carol Todd is still in some sort of crazy denial. There’s another new article here:

‘The more skin you show, the more likes you get’: The virtual lives of Canadian teen girls

From that:

“We talked about Amanda in grade seven and eight, but something wild would have to happen for us to talk about her again,” Becky said. “My parents are concerned, but they’re not that concerned, and most parents don’t check into what their kids are posting online.”

When the topic of online predators and cyberbullying is discussed during a grade 10 English class at Central Toronto, one female student falls asleep; you get the impression they’ve heard it all too many times before.

but Carol Todd seems to have missed the whole thing:

“Amanda loved to sing and posted videos on YouTube and someone found her account, pretended he was close to her age, paid her a compliment and kids being kids, girls — she fell for it,” says Todd, who has now returned from Amsterdam to Port Coquitlam.

Carol Todd still appears to want the story to be the old myth of ‘she was tricked’, which by now everyone knows is a load of baloney. In another Carol Todd version, Amanda was approached by someone who promised her a career in music. In yet another version, it was all the people from BlogTV. In yet another version, some lunatic turned up and threatened to visit Amanda in real life unless she flashed.

If Coban does get extradited to Canada, I’m not sure how Mrs Todd will cope with what will surely be an in depth investigation of the history. There’s always that ‘careful what you wish for’ element, but maybe we will get the full truth eventually. Then, perhaps, people might concentrate on more important issues – not just why kids like the Scottish girl go online and flash the flesh for likes, but why nobody seems bothered  about tackling the sites that exist to allow it all.

However, there is a scenario which I think may be not far from what will actually happen. I’m predicting that Aydin Coban will end up in prison and that the Canadian authorities will say that that’s the end of it – he’s guilty, it’s all his fault, end of story. I say that because I think that the RCMP and others won’t want to be shown up as incompetent idiots who handled the case badly, and there will be a huge desire to keep the Amanda Todd myth intact. Nobody, not even Carol Todd, will want to acknowledge the extent to which they fucked up.

3 thoughts on “What happens next?

    • Yep. That’s a hefty sentence by European standards, but I guess he’ll be out quite soon as he’s done 2 years already. Anyway, the fun will start now – maybe an appeal, maybe every kid in the world will claim to be a victim, and then Amanda v Aydin. A confession would be nice, but I can’t see that.

Leave a Reply

