Internet Shame

Miss P

I remember reading the news headlines and hearing the name: Amanda Todd. I never took the time to explore it until now. Before today, I avoided the topic. I have this thing against negative news.. not that I never read a negative headline. Sometimes exploring what’s going on is important to understand the environment students are being exposed to or living in. However, many of the comments I hear relating to this incident were vulgar and involved critical shaming of the girl, and placing blame on her and her family. Because of these comments I disengaged from the event and refused to explore what happened. 

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 2.11.36 PM.png

To be honest, I was hesitant to watch the documentary about her story. Suicide is uncomfortable for me, it makes my stomach flip whether it’s someone I know or not. Eventually, I was able to click the play button and I’m happy I did.

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

